Confusion about /var/lib/one and glusterfs

Hi, I am just learning OpenNebula and finding it much much more quicker then OpenStack. However, regarding datastores, I am confused. I have two hosts server0, server1. I created a gluster volume among them named vmvolume. Within oneadmin user account, I can create images with qemu-img create glusterfs://… .

My question is that, since /var/lib/one is NFS exported among hosts, when I create the following, should I do this in each host?

mkdir -p /var/lib/one/datastores/0
mount -t glusterfs server:/volume /var/lib/one/datastores/0
chown oneadmin:oneadmin /var/lib/one/datastores/0
ln -s /var/lib/one/datastores/0 /var/lib/one/datastores/1

Okay, assume I did this, then it asks me to create

> cat ds.conf
NAME = "glusterds"
DS_MAD = fs
TM_MAD = shared

# the following line *must* be preset
DISK_TYPE = GLUSTER

GLUSTER_HOST = gluster_server:24007
GLUSTER_VOLUME = one_vol

CLONE_TARGET="SYSTEM"
LN_TARGET="NONE"

> onedatastore create ds.conf
ID: 101

> onedatastore list
  ID NAME                SIZE AVAIL CLUSTER      IMAGES TYPE DS       TM
   0 system              9.9G 98%   -                 0 sys  -        shared
   1 default             9.9G 98%   -                 2 img  fs       shared
   2 files              12.3G 66%   -                 0 fil  fs       ssh
 101 default             9.9G 98%   -                 0 img  fs       shared

It seems creating a new gluster datastore opens a new datastore with id 101, however we did operations for datastores 0 and 1 at the top, this is what confuses me at most. Even though I have 2 servers (in our research lab, we might add more), I need the data to be distributed to those two hosts, however the above instructions seems complicated to me.

You don’t need to share /var/lib/one to all the nodes but if you do it you can just mount gluster in some place in all the nodes and make the links just once:

# mkdir /storage/gluster
# mount -t glusterfs gluster:volume /storage/gluster