Change oneadmin and serveradmin password

Hi I am completely new to opennebula and IaaS
Tried to change the serveradmin password through the sunstone dashboard and after that I’m not able to login to the dashboard at all both with oneadmin as well as serveradmin users.

Could someone guide me on how to reset the default passwords for both oneadmin and serveradmin?

I tried to run the following commands but it does not work
[oneadmin@localhost]$ oneuser passwd 0 ‘newpassword’
[oneadmin@localhost]$ oneuser passwd 1 ‘newpassword’
[oneadmin@localhost]$ one restart
[UserChangePassword] User couldn’t be authenticated, aborting call.

How can this be solved and how can I regain the oneadmin password?

1 Like

Hi,

I think you should put new password into /var/lib/one/.one/one_auth.

Hi thanks for the reply. Actually I changed the ‘serveradmin’ password in sunstone and then I was not able to login at all on the dashboard. Then I went to /var/lib/one/.one/sunstone_auth and changed it in that file as well but it still did not work. Reason : A hashed form of password is saved in I believe /var/lib/one/one.db which was not updated.

How do I update the hashed form if I want to change the oneadmin password?

For now this is what I’m doing
Let’s say I want a new password for oneadmin, I go to /var/lib/one/.one/one_auth and change the oneadmin:‘newpassword’. Now I go online and do convert text to sha1 -> Convert ‘newpassword’. Output is a hashed form. Then as oneadmin I run the command
$ oneuser passwd 0 ‘hashedform’

This is how it starts working. Am I doing it correct?

Hi,

Did you restart opennebula and opennebula-sunstone ? Lets try it.

Hey yes I did that.

su oneadmin

$ one restart
oned and scheduler restarted
$ su root

sunstone-server restart

sunstone-server stopped
VNC proxy started
sunstone-server restarted